Building a computer for the first time

Phoenix012

Distinguished
Jun 8, 2009
Alright, I'm seeking advice on how to make informed decisions in regards to selecting my own components. While I have no doubts that many of the people here are very knowledgeable, I feel much better taking the advice of people who can point to sources which back up what they're saying. Therefore I would greatly appreciate it some of you could point me towards some good resources rather than just listing me a bunch of components. I hope you understand. So far I've been able to learn a great deal about CPU's and GPU's from this site and others, but I'm still somewhat confused in regards to motherboards, power supplies, and so forth

That said, here's my situation. I am a college student that's been getting by with fairly nice 15in Dell laptop for a several years now. I finally have enough money in the bank that I'm comfortable with laying down $1000 on a new desktop. Of course that means I have nothing to carry on to this new desktop. I'm starting from scratch.

I've been doing a lot of research and am starting to get a fairly good idea of what I'm going to get, however I still have questions and I want to see what the community here has to say.

So here we go:

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: I'm expecting to order sometime this month. I'm hoping to come to a decision this week, but am in no real rush.

BUDGET RANGE: US$900-1000. Will consider up to $1100 but the goal here is $1000.

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, surfing the internet, watching movies

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: mouse, OS (I have an MSDN account through school)

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg

PARTS PREFERENCES: None in particular. I have some ideas that I'm putting in the comments

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe (never had my own desktop to try it on)

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Yes (but not required)

MONITOR RESOLUTION: I like my laptop which is 1680x1050.