I7 950 @ 4Ghz high temps. Help!

traxevc

Distinguished
Dec 17, 2010
Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to overclocking. I have only OCed my C2D e6600 to 3ghz in the past. Now Ive got the following system:

i7 950 DO revision
P6X58d-e mobo
Geil value plus RAM 2x4GB (1.6V max 9-9-9-28 factory settings, not timings in my BIOS)
Noctua NH-D14 cooler
GTX 470 Msi twin frozr (I dont think this matters but I just mention it)
XFX 750w pro series PSU

After research and reading, I have found the following settings to give a stable OC of 3.8ghz with high temps though. I did a P95 blend test and it reached 76-78C when it was doing FFT 8k or something, but at times it was floating at 68-72C. Here are the settings for my 3.8ghz OC:

img1002h.jpg

img1003eu.jpg

img1004pf.jpg

I have tried different versions of 4Ghz as well, i.e. 21x191, 19x211 and 23x 174. However, I managed to get a stable OC with three notches higher voltage than my 3.8ghz: around 1.32 in BIOS, a bit less in cpu-z. I had to set lower Ram voltage in all these to get a more stable OC. I am not sure though this affected the OC as I was changing other factors at the same time as well, such as QPI etc. For my 4Ghz OC I used higher QPI: around 1.3v. Generally, my temps @ a stable 4ghz were high, above 82C. I only let it test for 1hour, as I didnt want to keep it running in that high temps.

Thoughts/questions:

is there anything wrong with my Noctua? I have tried reseating 4 times using different techniques: less paste (arctic silver 5), more paste, and tinting the heatsink/line on the CPU. The transition from less to more thermal paste seemed to have made a 4-5 degrees C difference in my temps. The noctua's surface is not smooth but with some wavy lines while the cpu is smooth of course.