ASUS P7P55D questions

will2power

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2009
Hi all,

I am looking for some good advice about Motherboards, the area I know least about (I am no expert at other areas so I am pretty much clueless with Motherboards!)

I am building my 1st computer for Graphics (Photoshop mostly) and possibly Video (I took a course in Premiere some time ago but do not use at the moment).

After looking around I am thinking about buying an ASUS P7P55D but have been looking at the Asus M4A78T-E, P4B533-E, and the P4P800. I will be using with an Intel i5 core processor (possibly i7, not sure it is necessary though!).

My 1st question is, does anyone with good knowledge think the P7P55D the right choice? 2nd question is, there seems to be different varieties at different costs, eg P7P55D "LE", "Deluxe", "EVO" and "E-premium". If there is anyone kind enough to explain the difference I would be very grateful!!

Also, if anyone has some advice on good memory I really aprreciate it!

Thanks in advance for your help!

Solution
Keep in mind that if you go with P7P55D motherboard then you would not be able to SLI since it does not support NVIDIA SLI technology so you had to go with only 1 NVIDIA video card (1x PCIe x16 slot). You can still crossfire with 2 ATI video cards but they would run at x4 mode which is very bad.

So if you are planning to SLI/Crossfire then I would not recommend P7P55D but I would prefer to recommend P7P55D PRO at least. It will also save you more money than the EVO version. The P7P55D EVO version will have DriveXpert Technology in which I don't think that you need it so the PRO version is enough. JMicron® JMB322 chip which supports DriveXpert Technology is the only difference between the P7P55D EVO version and the P7P55D PRO version so...
Hello and welcome to the forums :)