Ancient PCCHPS MoBo and its RAM question

josephfuentes

Distinguished
Aug 16, 2008
Folks, a friend of mine -really! - has a prehistoric desktop with PCCHPS motherboard mdl M755. It has 4 slots, 2 of them populated with 128MB sticks. From Wopti Utilities (I'm assuming you guys are familiar with it), it said the 256MB RAM was
DIMM SDRAM, Error detection 32bit ECC, supported speeds 70ns, 60ns, EDO Parity ECC SIMM 3.3V.

I was told this is very old memory. And expensive too! So my question is, can I just use old DDR2 or even DDR memory which is cheaper to bring it up to 512MB? That is, throw the existing 265MB ECC memory out, and replace it with 4 sticks of 128MB or even 2 sticks of 256MB? I looked at the PCCHPS website and even it does not have much info. Or is my buddy stuck with having to buy another EDO ECC memory sticks to bring it to 512MB?

Before you say throw that piece of junk in the trash - i AGREE! Problem is it's not my desktop.

Pls help here. I am not a memory expert. Thanks!

Solution
the ram i linked is registered and may or may-not work with your board, but for sure you should look for sdram pc-133 :D the manual i downloaded said you boar supports a max of 512MB per slot, 1GB total. good luck!

kerdika

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2009
DO NOT PUT IN ANYOTHER RAM OTHER THAN THE SPECIFIED FOR THE MOBO
SDR is NOT compatible with DDR
nor is DDR compatible with DDR2 and the same goes for DDR3
MIXING AN MATCHING WILL CAUSE RAM/BOARD/CPU/PSU/EVERYTHING FAILURE!!!!