Purchasing an Asus P6TD Deluxe... do I need a new sound card??

charrolastroo

Distinguished
Dec 1, 2009
This is my first time using a forum for this purpose, I can almost always google to find someone else who asked the same question I have...but not this time!

So, as the title says I am getting a new mobo soon and my general concern is what extra cards, peripherals, and parts I will need?

I currently have an XPS 410 stocked with all the goodies that will transfer over to my new mobo (hard drive and video card). Since this is a pretty drastic upgrade from my setup, I have purchased a new processor to match the motherboard I am getting, new ddr3 RAM tri-channel, a better graphics card, and now I am wondering what else I am forgetting? My biggest worry was the sound card issue. I have absolutely no knowledge of sound cards, whatsoever. I know that some cheaper motherboards have integrated audio, whereas others do not. I would assume that the p6td deluxe does not have integrated audio... but that is why I am on this forum.

If that is the case, how does one shop for sound cards? Again, my requirements are purely for gaming and workstation use (In that order!), so then does anyone recommend any sound cards? And is installing a sound card the same as installing any other kind of PCI card? Do sound cards even go into a PCI slot??

On a final note, it recently occurred to me that I may have issues putting my new motherboard in my old Dell Chassis. If the dimensions are universal (ATX) then it should theoretically fit... right? If anyone has some experience with this, please assist me! Thank you!

Solution