Need source for brass fitting

BigDav

Distinguished
Oct 7, 2009
I have purchased an oil cooler (see link below) for use in my GPU/CPU single pump loop.
I'm looking for a challenge here, not wanting to just purchase bolt-on stuff, besides, this
thing cools REALLY well :love:

http://www.jegs.com/i/Derale/259/15302/10002/-1?parentProductId=1335934

I'm a plumber by trade so brazing/soldering work is no problem.

The copper tubes (1/2" OD) on the cooler are now straight. I need to elbow them downward (it's going in the top of case)
and end up with female G1/4 threads for standard water cooling fittings (using 1/2id X 3/4od Tygon).

I know I'll be able to paint (black) whatever brass or copper fitting that I end up using and then use
Bitspower comp. fittings in the G1/4 threads.

I've looked (on-line) til my eyes burn & hit every hardware store I pass, but so far, no luck :(

What I think will work is a brass elbow with a hole smaller than 1/2, so I can drill it to snugly fit the tubes
of the "rad" and have G1/4 female threads OR at least give me the bulk to tap the G1/4 threads myself.

Any suggestions or direct links to sources would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
BigDav

Don't know if this will help or not, G 1/4 with a couple wraps of teflon works fine with 3/8 NPT
SDC10467.jpg

BigDav

Distinguished
Oct 7, 2009
Thanks for your reply delluser1

Right now, the oil cooler has 1/2 tygon clamped to the copper tubes, but it's really ugly!
DSC00267.jpg

I think I'm gonna try and drill out the male threads on this extention fitting, clean off the finish to bare brass and solder two of them to
the 1/2OD tubes of the oil cooler, then of course paint it all black again.
BP-MBWP-C63_01.jpg

With the female threads in place, I can then just screw in some 90 degree elbows to point towards
the bottom of the case. I'm working on sleeving & re-wiring the whole case right now, my orders should