Tags:
  • Hard Drives
  • Pentium
  • Storage
  • Product
Last response: in Storage
February 19, 2011 4:39:45 AM

Hello,
hi, i was wondering my hard drive has failed the long genirc test and the long DST test. will this cause random BOSD issues till i replace it.

More about : pentium 945 review normal tempetures

a c 110 G Storage
February 19, 2011 4:47:10 AM

Is there a question in there?
Score
February 19, 2011 4:49:48 AM

im sorry im having issues. yeah my question was my hard drive since it failed those test is that why im getting random BOSD
Score
Related resources
a c 110 G Storage
February 19, 2011 4:54:00 AM

Very likely. Is the HDD SMART enabled and have you checked it with a utility like Speedfan to see what is failing?
Score
February 19, 2011 4:56:35 AM

im not sure about the HDDSMART thing. and the only thing i checked it with was seatools. And im sorry im new to this.
Score
a c 110 G Storage
February 19, 2011 4:59:56 AM

Download Speedfan from the link I posted. Check under SMART and see if anything is showing errors. It is very simple to read.
Score
February 19, 2011 5:29:35 AM

thats a nice program. over all fitness is 97%, overall performance is 90%. but it did say my hours count was kinda bad and i had 1 pending sector that couldnt be read. so im not sure if i should get another hdd or not. i just know its been getting more and more blues screens. and ive built this computer and the only thing thats from my old system is the hdd. and that system was getting blue screens once in awhile.
Score

Best solution

a c 110 G Storage
February 19, 2011 5:55:07 AM

Would not hurt to do a clean install of Windows then and get a new drive. The Samsung Spinpoint F3 has been the best "bang for your buck" drive for a while now. If you shop around the 500GB is usually about $45 and the 1TB model is usually around $60. They are fast , reliable and silent.
February 19, 2011 5:57:50 AM