Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Suggest graphics card

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
July 1, 2009 9:23:36 AM

Hi,

I'm a newbie, planning to buy a desktop to play games like AOE 3, AOM, Rome-total war, warcraft .......etc

These are the specifications I am considering.
Processor: Core2duo (2.53 GHz) -E7200
Mother board: Intel original x48 motherboard (suggestions r welcome)
RAM: 2GB DDR2 RAM
Hard disk: SATA2 320GB

I have the following questions. Plz forgive me if my questions are naive but I dunno much about computer hardware.

Does x48 motherboard have a built-in graphics card?
If yes, is it good enough to play the games I play.
If not, which external graphics card do u suggest?
plz don't just suggest a high-end graphics card just because it's the best there it is.
I want a graphics card good enough for the games I play and which gives the money's worth.

Please reply.
Thank you.

More about : suggest graphics card

a b U Graphics card
July 1, 2009 9:41:30 AM

Im not sure if that board has onboard.

If it does, it probably won't run warcraft very well though.

for a decent budget card i would suggest a nvidia ge-force 8600GTS.

It is a decent card that you should be able to pick up for under 50 $ With you config you should then be able to max out warcraft.

hope this helps.

EDIT:
X48 may or may not have onboard video. depends on the manufacturer.
July 1, 2009 10:48:36 AM

N.Broekhuijsen said:
Im not sure if that board has onboard.

If it does, it probably won't run warcraft very well though.

for a decent budget card i would suggest a nvidia ge-force 8600GTS.

It is a decent card that you should be able to pick up for under 50 $ With you config you should then be able to max out warcraft.

hope this helps.

EDIT:
X48 may or may not have onboard video. depends on the manufacturer.

Thanks for the reply.
One of my friends suggested Radeon 4670.
How does it compare with nvidia ge-force 8600GTS performance-wise and price-wise?
Related resources