Sign in with
Your question

First time oc am I ok?

Last response: in Overclocking
May 22, 2011 7:52:26 PM

First time poster,first time oc'er here. First off I want to say thank you to the community in advance. I've been using the into on these forums to build my pc from scratch by myself and you all have been a wealth of knowledge. Built my first pc since 2004... I've been using a laptop for the past 7 years.
Through you guys I finally decided and built this:
Intel I-72600k
Asus pro p...whatever it's called. The new one with the new bios format.
Radeon hd 6900 2gb gpu
Haf x942 case
8gb (2x4gb) ripsjaw x series ram
120gb ssd
1tb hdd
Noctua nh-14d CPU fan

Might have said some of that wrong but you get the gist

Put it together myself with help of forum info and some YouTube videos

Ok on to the questions and concerns.
Running around 27c idle 48c under prime58 torture test
Friend suggested oc'ing it
Read up on it and tried. First went up to 4.9ghz and ran 31c idle 78c prime torture
Didn't feel comfortable with that with what I've read from you guys so far. So I let it auto tune up to 4.6ghz 27c idle 66c prime torture load.

What kind of temps should I be looking for here?
Should I tune it down to 4.4ghz. (26c idle , 55c prime torture)?
Last question. I've read with auto tuner.. The voltage tends to run a bit higher than needed amd can be tweaked down in some cases to help get temps under what the auto tune adjusts them to. So if suggesting that...what increment should I lower them by?

More about : time

a b K Overclocking
May 22, 2011 8:18:35 PM

55c on prime is ok i wouldnt go no higher than that or risk damged to cpu. 4.4ghz is a good speed 4.9 sounds better but go with the temps lower the temp the better hope this helps
m
l
May 22, 2011 11:20:48 PM