Sign in with
Your question

High performance i7 system in SFF/Slim tower. Possible?

Last response: in Systems
June 13, 2009 9:12:33 PM

I'm an engineer that travels a lot around the world. I run a lot of applications that require high CPU performance such as CAD, MATLAB simulations etc. I'm getting sick of laptops (the small keyboard, lousy screens and bad performance) so I want to build a desktop PC but it's absolutely crucial that it's small. I.e. must be build in a SFF case / slim tower. Because of my performance requirements I want to go for a core i7 920 on a microATX X58 board. My question is if this is even possible in terms of cooling and what not?. I mean will it all fit in a small case? "Small" to me means something like the Antec Minuet 350 or the like:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

I don't do any gaming so I don't need much in terms of graphics card. My only requirements for a graphics card are that it must be able to support dual monitors and that it's an nvidia card (just because the drivers are easier to handle on GNU/linux systems).
Finally would be very nice to keep the noise to a minimum, if possible.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: asap.
BUDGET RANGE: <= $1600
SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: CAD, MATLAB,...
OVERCLOCKING: No
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No
MONITOR RESOLUTION: TWO 1920x1080 monitors
ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: QUIET PC a great plus for me!

Only things I'm pretty much set on are:
CPU: Core i7 920
RAM: 12 GB, DDR3-1600
MOBO: MicroATX X58 board.

Is it possible to fit a system like this into a very small case?

Appreciate your advice!

June 13, 2009 9:43:10 PM

A few other ideas, I don't have time to do a full build atm:

You want to replace the CPU cooler with a low profile bolt-through type. You want a very secure set up if it's going to move around a lot.

You want an SSD. No moving parts. You will have to pay for a good one.