Question regarding an SSD

hemphill

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2008
Having built quite a few systems as a hobbyist, I am a little intimidated in asking this question. Still, no matter how I try to rationalized it in my own mind, I do not have it nailed down.

I am interested only in speeding up my load screen times in games (be it WoW, or whatever). It is my understanding that, provided one has sufficient memory and reasonably high-end processor and vga, installing an SSD, will help to increase performance in this particular area, due to the ability to seek much faster than a mechanical drive. I have researched several opinions and configurations, each of which recommend only installing the OS on the SSD and all the remaining programs on the old mechanical drive.

That being said, wouldn't that only decrease the boot time? I mean, wouldn't only programs installed on the SSD load faster? Sure, I like the idea of my systems booting in mere seconds. However, that's pretty lackluster compared to the luxury of not knowing every artistic detail of a load-screen backdrop :??:

Therefore, would I be logical in concluding that any program I expected to be snappier would need to accompany the OS on that SSD?

Humbly

Hemphill

Solution
Hemphill...

Your logic is correct.

To get the "speed" benefit of the SSD, you need to install the app / game on the SSD. The sweet spot for SSD's is 120GB. It gives you plenty of room for the OS, Apps and your most used games (one or two), without sacrificing needED space. I currently have a 80GB Intel, that I run OS and Apps and run my games off of a WD 300GB Velicoraptor. I plan to upgrade to a 120GB + drive soon, so I'll look to install some games on my SSD.

tecmo34

Administrator
Hemphill...

Your logic is correct.