Sign in with
Your question

~$1000 3d rendering/adobe cs4 box - i7 build?

Last response: in Systems
June 14, 2009 7:22:55 PM

I am an Industrial Design student, and need a new system for school use primarily. I am looking to make it as future proof as possible - and make my big investment now, and have the option to upgrade/add more ram/hd/gfx down the line as needed.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE
: a few days to a week

BUDGET RANGE: $1000

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT:
1) 3d Modeling & Rendering (maya/rhino/maxwell/hypershot),
2) Multitasking smoothly with photoshop/illustrator/indesign
3) gaming / movies

PARTS NOT REQUIRED
: keyboard, mouse, monitors (dual Samsung 223BW), speakers

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS
: newegg.com

PARTS PREFERENCES: I was leaning toward the i7 as this seems to be the most advanced (future proof) chip/mobo combination out there right now. Antec for cases - or something of similar quality.

OVERCLOCKING:
Maybe (as part of upgrade path)
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe (as part of upgrade path)

MONITOR RESOLUTION:
2@ 1680x1050 (but would like to be able to have capacity for a bit more in the future - 1900x1200 x2)

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: A plain case is good - just want it to stay cool and quiet - no need for windows or lights.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Proposed Part List:
All suject to change - this is just what I came up with - please advise away!

MOBO - priority was expandable ram - many cheaper options were limited with only 4 slots
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD4P LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

CPU
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor Model BX80601920 - Retail

CPU COOLER
Recommendations?

RAM