Is it too late to RAID?

Moondoggy

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2004
I'm running Windows 7 64-bit and I have a WD 1TB SATA hard drive. My mainboard is an ASUS P6T and I know that it has built in RAID support that I currently have disabled. Although I regularly back up my hard drive with Acronis True Image, I've still become a bit concerned about the state of my hard drive. My question is this..... Although my system currently is a couple of years old and is not RAID configured, is it possible to add an additional hard drive and change it to raid? If yes, are there any rules that I would have to follow regarding manufacturer's, make, model, size, speed, etc. At this point, I'm a real RAID newbie so I don't have a clue where to begin. Can I please get some advice and direction from an expert?

Solution
You can still convert your system to RAID, but it'll be harder. The only easy option would be to backup your files and settings, wipe the one hard drive, create the RAID array, reinstall the OS from scratch, and then restore your files and setting. That however would be a pain to do.

The better option would be to create a image of the current hard drive, then save that on another hard drive, create the RAID array, then take the old hard drive image use it to image the RAID array.

The question there would be how to take the backup image and image the new RAID array with it.

Now, as to the choice of hard drive, you'll want to get a second drive that is a close to, if not identical to, the other drive that you want to set up the RAID...

jprahman

Distinguished
May 17, 2010
You can still convert your system to RAID, but it'll be harder. The only easy option would be to backup your files and settings, wipe the one hard drive, create the RAID array, reinstall the OS from scratch, and then restore your files and setting. That however would be a pain to do.