Fried(i think) motherboard

phynix21

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2009
ok this is my first post on here and i hope it is in the right section, if not then i am sorry.
but i have an issue.
i have a gateway gt5220 pc and purchased a newer graphics card for it (nvidia 8800gt) and upon install it on the motherboard i learned that the generic power supply i have does not have the 6 pin connector it needs. so i get on newegg(if im not allowed to mention them please edit it) and purchase a new power supply (hec X-Power Pro 600 600W Continuous @ 40°C ATX12V V2.2 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Power Supply). im still new to this and did now the difference between motherboards. i hooked it up and it didnt work. i can see now that my motherboard is an ubtx and the power supply is an atx model. does this make a difference? after hooking up the old power supply it will not come on. i did put the older graphics card back in and evrything is hooked up the way it should and its dead. so im guessing i fried the motherboard. i wanted to make sure that the power supply just wasnt bad so i hooked it up do an old dell i have and the light on the motherboard flashes and beeps instead of staying on with no beeping. im not sure of the motherboard in this unit but im guessing its an atx because of its age (purchased in 2000). i could be all wrong and understand that.

my main questions are:
did the atx power supply fry my ubtx motherboard?

did the beeping and flashing light indicate a faulty power unit?

if my motherboard is dead, what should i look for as a replacement(knowing what i know now i am going to have to buy a new case for it since the atx will not fit a ubtx case)?

any help will be great!

roonj

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2009
Atx, Ubtx, xyuz, abcde, doesn't really matter, they all use 3.3v 5.v and 12v lines so no problem there.