Sign in with
Your question

Intake OR Exhaust

Last response: in Overclocking
May 30, 2011 12:56:01 PM

I am currently puzzled whether to change my intake fan to exhaust fan as many people asked me to change it to an exhaust fan.
I Have A Power Supply Exhaust Fan That blows hot air out of the case.
Below it i have a Cooler master intake fan.
Should i change it to a exhaust fan?
**I cant add fans as this is a hp case and it only supports 2 fans.Both at the back of the case.
Specs
MSI CYCLONE POWER 6850
@900.1100
i5 750
510w acbel powersupply
OEM motherboard.
Stock HS.

Top fan==>PSU

More about : intake exhaust

a c 190 K Overclocking
May 30, 2011 12:58:59 PM

general guidelines are front and side intake, rear and top exhaust,
Swap the fan round :p 
Moto
m
l
May 30, 2011 1:41:44 PM

well one intake and one exhaust balances the equation. so its fine. anyways you wouldn't see a world of a difference.
m
l
Related resources
a c 190 K Overclocking
May 30, 2011 1:56:02 PM

Quote:I cant add fans as this is a hp case and it only supports 2 fans.Both at the back of the case,

^Send me the case, I'll add some fans for you :p 
Moto
m
l
May 30, 2011 11:05:43 PM

I can only see one fan at the back of the case.
And as I see that fan holes are at the bottom of the case. If so, you should leave it as an intake fan. If it would be just under the psu fan, then you should put it as an exhaust.

Check front panel, there should be some holes to put fans.

But if you want to have any airflow you must buy a case with bottom mounted psu.
m
l
May 31, 2011 2:00:50 AM

Its a hp case,the biggest square filter is the heatsink sucking/blow air out (idk),my hp case cant be modded as theres a push up/push down technology which hides the front usb.My PSU fan is the one of the top while at the bottom is a Cooler master fan.Will the intake fan at the bottom suck in hot air that is blown out by the psu fan?
So you guys mean i should just change it to a exhaust?
m
l
a c 183 K Overclocking