Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Water Cooling, kit vs parts for a n00b!

Last response: in Overclocking
May 31, 2011 2:44:15 AM

Hi Guys,
Hoping for some deep and abiding insight from the smarties and heckling from the dummies, so here goes.

I posted about building a system a few weeks/months ago, link is here

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/forum2.php?config=tom...

My PC is in a HAF-X case, 2600k i7 and 2xGTX 580 GPU's (ZOTAC AMP2 Edition 3GB), OZD RevoDrive SSD, 16 GB 1866 RAM (Corsair)

Basically I am new to home building, but I've done pretty well so far (except for a damn pesky temp gauge that stopped working last night) and I am thinking of watercooling. I have spent a lot of time on the boards, and have a long list of stickies, links etc, and I think I am ALMOST ready to buy some stuff. I'm just stuck with one thing, whether I should buy individual parts like Laing DD5 12v, Reservoir, Radiators, blocks for GPU's, tygon tubing etc or buy a kit like the Koolance Exos 2.5 and just add blocks and tubing to that.

My outline for the system goes to my CPU->GPU->GPU and thats pretty much it (THink I will stay away from NB, RAM and HDD's for now)

So, three questions

1) Should I go with something like the Koolance or build from scratch? I know from scratch seems to be preferred, but I am no "Bob the Builder" and I was thinking of going with the package fix for ease and convienience. Also, the Koolance looks cool. This is obviously not a game changer, but it helps. So, can I have a no nonsense pros vs cons based on experience please?

2) Also, I have heard from some of the guys over at Xtreme Systems that full GPU blocks are not a good way to go, as they are too heavy. Is that the case? They seem easier from my n00b perspective, but I don't want to break my GPU's or PCI slots.