Temp of i7 2600k @ 4.5ghz using Noctua NDH14

zoids956

Distinguished
May 14, 2011
What are the temps of idle? full load?

I am new to OC.
And I would like to know the average temp for an idle cpu, so that it can last longer.
I was thinking of OCing my i7 2600k to 4.5GHz
Of course i don't know the precise temp yet. and i have not done it yet too.

To be easier to understand answer these questions:
1) What is the average temperature of a CPU that I can use 24/7? (OCed or not OCed)
2) What is the maximum temp a CPU can handle without smoking or melting?
3) Will Noctua ndh14 be a good choice? or should i change it to a better one?
4) If OCed, what temp should the CPU be so I can use it 24/7?

Thank you in advance,

Solution
You should get good temps with it at 4.5 ghz. My cooler is a step down from yours (NH-U12P SE2) and they will never even hit 70 C, even after hours of Prime 95 at that clock speed

1. I'd avoid a clock speed with high stress loads over 75C (or 80 max)
2. Pretty high, but you're likely to damage the chip before it would do that anyways
3. Yes it's a very good choice
4. See #1, and I wouldn't use a voltage over 1.4v for 24/7 use (but that's just me)

bearclaw99

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2010
You should get good temps with it at 4.5 ghz. My cooler is a step down from yours (NH-U12P SE2) and they will never even hit 70 C, even after hours of Prime 95 at that clock speed

1. I'd avoid a clock speed with high stress loads over 75C (or 80 max)
2. Pretty high, but you're likely to damage the chip before it would do that anyways
3. Yes it's a very good choice
4. See #1, and I wouldn't use a voltage over 1.4v for 24/7 use (but that's just me)

Solution
bearclaw99 responce was good and in your requested order: So I'll just elaborate on.

Rank order of HSFs @ frosty. My 9900Max is highlited as that is the cooler I ended up getting.
http://www.frostytech.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=2567&page=5
and at Guru3d