Sign in with
Your question

Recently Built System won't boot

Last response: in Systems
June 15, 2009 4:42:01 PM

Hi, I've recently built my own system, find the specs below...

Antec 900-2 Nine Hundred Two Ultimate Gaming Case

Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16GHz

1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 SATA2 7200RPM 32MB cache

Asus P5Q PRO iP45 Socket 775 Motherboard

Corsair TX 650W ATX2.2 SLi Compliant Power Supply

XFX ATI Radeon HD 4870 1024MB GDDR5 TV-Out/Dual DVI/HDMI (PCI-Express)

I've been running this system for 3 months now, no problems whatsoever, last night I shut it down like normal... I just got in from work, and press the power button, nothing happens... which is strange, I tried turning the psu off/on again at the back of the psu, nothing. I then unplugged the whole thing off at the wall socket, press the power button, it starts to boot, the blue leds come on but the fans make a loud whirring sound and it only lasts for about 2-3 seconds, then shuts down.

Any ideas? All the parts are brand new, well 3 months...
June 15, 2009 5:01:06 PM

The first thing I would do if it was me is test the power supply. If you have a PSU tester. if not, maybe try to replace it if you have another one sitting around.

When something like this happens, you just have to start somewhere and start crossing things out. But first I would probably rule out the PSU (because its the most obvious) and then go from there.
Related resources
June 15, 2009 6:00:55 PM

I would imagine something has just died inside, as I really don't see how it would go from fine to not even booting in the space of 12 hours with it being something trivial like a wiring issue etc, something would have had to physically break inside.

Probably a stupid question, but we had a bad lightning storm today, could there have been a strike or something?