Sign in with
Your question
Closed

SSD no longer recognized: Kingston SSD now v100

Last response: in Storage
March 1, 2011 4:32:51 AM

Hello, I have been using my SSD drive as my primary hard drive for about two months now. However one day I tried to use my computer and it no longer booted. So i tried changing around the sata cables and found it to be a problem with the SSD as my secondary hard drive works fine with both sata connections. Bios no longer recognizes the SSD drive and it is not recognized by disk partition either. So i reinstalled windows unto my secondary hard drive to try and see if I can make windows recognize it.

With windows installed, I found out that it would not read the drive whilst connected to sata cables. I did manage to at least get it recognized one way. I changed the hard drives on my external hard disk enclosure and got my computer to recognize my SSD drive through the USB connection. It seems that it will show up on "my computer" but when I try to view the contents, it will not load. I tried copying the drive and paste but my computer just stays busy until I turn off the external. In addition, the SSD is recognized by disk partition through this method. I tried to make it an "active partition" but once again it goes busy until I turn my external off.

I really need to get inside this drive and recover a few files which is the reason why I did not try to format it (if I am even able). I have already contacted Kingston and am still waiting on an answer from them (which will probably be to turn it in). If there are any other suggestions, please let me know. Thank you for reading.
March 2, 2011 12:55:20 AM

update:

I tried using various "data recovery" software but none of them will get past the "scanning drives" dialogue.

Also, unsurprisingly, Kingston wants me to turn in the defective product.

Score
Related resources
March 2, 2011 4:00:34 AM