Sign in with
Your question

Want to upgrade Pentium D CPU

Last response: in CPUs
September 19, 2009 8:34:35 PM

Hello everyone,

I currently own a Pentium D 940 and a P4m900-m7 fe motherboard. I know my processor sucks, and my mobo kinda does too, so I'm wondering what upgrade options are there? I'm a casual gamer, so I'm not going to be needing a core i7 cpu. I'm looking at a core 2 duo e7500 for around $120. Would it be better to upgrade not just the cpu, but the motherboard as well? Should I think about upgrading my motherboard and switching my processor brand to Amd instead of intel? I'd just like to upgrade from my hot, power hungry Pentium D. I'm fairly new to CPU upgrades, so I could really use some help. Thanks!

BTW, I have a generic ATX 450 watt PSU. Should I upgrade that as well?

-In response to your posts:
My mobo can run DDR2 Memory
I have 3 GB crucial memory
The Pentium D has 800MHz FSB
My video card is a 8500gt (yeah it sucks)
The budget for a CPU is about $150
My mobo can support up to 1066MHz FSB

Yes my video card is bad, I know. I'm looking to upgrade to an HD 4770 or 9800 GT. I just wasn't sure which I should upgrade first: the CPU or GPU?

I'll try to post a benchmark of my system by the next day.

Thanks for taking the time to answer my question!

More about : upgrade pentium cpu

a c 113 à CPUs
a c 229 V Motherboard
September 19, 2009 8:51:24 PM

Upgrading to a new motherboard with that same E7500 won't make the system much faster. You can also upgrade everything and get a new AMD CPU, a new motherboard, new memory, new video card, etc. It all depends on your gaming requirements.
m
l
September 19, 2009 9:09:47 PM

Just get the E7500, no need for a new motherboard.
m
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs
September 19, 2009 10:33:36 PM