Virus that damages the hard disk and ruins windows ability to boot

Darkstorm_G4

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2011
Hello. Please read all of this before jumping in with “no a virus cant damage your hard disk”

In October 2010 I had 5 friends up and down the country ( UK ) with computers that suddenly stopped working. All of them had the same issue, the computers had become slow over a number of days weeks, and then one day locked up and on reboot would not get any further than the windows title screen before resetting and looping.

Safe mode, recovery console and all other routes such as check disk all revealed the same results, large numbers of bad clusters on the discs rendering them unable too boot.

This has happened on computers with XP and Vista, not happened on 7 yet. All of them are of different types and different ages from different manufacturers, but nearly all with Seagate and Maxtor drives.

Now to the current issue.

I’m an engineer on a ship, and in the last 2 days I have had 10 computers out of a network of 40 go down in this manner.

The network has started to run slower and slower over the last 3-4 weeks, so have random computers on the network, even ones that have no work load or use other than reading internal e-mail and writing word documents have got to the point where they chug along and take almost 15 minutes to log on and set up before they are usable.

We are running Sophos onboard but it is difficult with a limited connection speed via satellite to do massive updates etc, but nothing has been detected on the computers or the network.

All of the computers that have failed have the same problems, they wont boot up and just loop round and round. They have all got lots of damaged clusters, usually in sequential numbers and usually all in the same areas on each computer as the computers are all the same type and model from the same manufacturer and are essentially clones.