Building new system.AMD phenom 2 X4 955 or Intel corei7-920?

core4less

Distinguished
Sep 20, 2009
Hi :hello: .im new to this thread.and this is my first post.it will be long so i got to warn u in advance lol.

please do excuse my bad grammer as it tends to be my weakest point.

i will upgrade/rebuild a new system with my existing components.the only new/major components i will be purchasing soon are/is: CPU,Motherboard & Memory.possibly a case too although i have a nexus,i may need to get a new one as it's outdated.

i read the whole posts on the "AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE vs. Intel Core 2 Duo E8600" thread.however it has lead me to confusion.

my concern is,i really am stuck in deciding for which CPU in particular to go for,between "AMD Phenom 2 X4 quad core 955 black edition" and the "Intel Core i7 920".funding is not a limiting factor.

1 question i have in mind.after reading so many posts,looking at test results from varies websites and coupled together with varies posts all over etc,i still am not sure with a definite answer and stuck to come to a final conclusion. :whistle:

question 1.out of these 2 processors,which one tends to consume less energy as an overall? i usually use my PC for like 11 hours a day and it's on most of the time. the reason i ask this question is because i want to save on my electricity bill as much as possible! as i hear both these cpu's wastes a great deal amount of electricity although not sure consumes less as there are mixed opinions all over.some say when the AMD phenom reaches even a slightest "overclocking" mode,it becomes a power hungry..well..er.. whore.lol...sorry excuse me for the language as it was stated by someone else somewhere here on thread.