Need advice - Hard drive config, New Build,

Jack500

Distinguished
Mar 4, 2011
Hello,

I will be building my first system and I really could use some advice from all you pros out there.

I have a Corsair 700D case which has a total of 6 HDD trays. I will be using my system mostly for professional work, but eventually for some hard-core gaming.

So far, I have decided on the following
1. 1 Intel G-2 boot drive (maybe a G-3 version if Intel stops playing games and releases it)
2. 4 Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB 7200RPM hard drives

QUESTIONS
1. I'll have an extra hard drive slot available. Should I utilize it for something?
2. What kind of RAID setup / backup configuration would you recommend? Partition? Etc.
3. Any other advice you can offer?

Again, I'm a "newbie" at this so please be gentle. But I am looking for the best configuration possible. Any assistance would greatly be appreciated. Thank you!

Jack500

hcwilli

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2011

Good question, I am fairly new at this myself and am upgrading an older system with 2 existing WD Raptor drives and want to use a OCZ Vertex 2 as my boot drive. I have had a hard time finding information on the best RAID setup for this configuration. On another forum somebody suggested I spend some time on the OCZ site and would find my answer there. Perhaps there is also information on the Intel site as well. In any case I hope somebody responds to this and will help us both out.
Thanks for posting good question. If I find a good answer I will post back here.

Jack500

Distinguished
Mar 4, 2011
I want to put Windows 7 64-bit on SDD. MS Office 2010 perhaps?
I don't have any other apps that I need a fast setup, but I'm sure that will change by the end of this year.

What other stuff should I consider placing on SSD boot drive?

hcwilli

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2011

Thanks Mosox for response,