New System won't boot properly

yodogs5

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2009
Hey everyone, I am pretty new to building computers, I just built my first today and am having some problems. Everything in the PC is new except for the hard drive, this is because it already has Windows XP installed on it. When I try booting up the PC normally I get a blue screen that has a stop message saying "STOP: 0X0000007E" (That's not the whole thing, just the beginning). I am able to go into safe mode, but there is not much I can do from there.

THINGS I'VE TRIED:

Putting in a reinstall disk, which apparently was not the right one (Can't seem to find the one I need).

Put Ubuntu, a free OS, on a disk and brought it over to the computer but in safe mode the CD would not boot.

Put Ubuntu on a flash drive but it would not be read.

I suspect it could be the hard drive because it is IDE, or the drivers (the blue screen says to check drivers) that I have not been able to install due to safe mode

Goro

Distinguished
Nov 15, 2008
Can you post to bios? If you can make sure that you set your CDdrive as first booting device, restart your pc with Win Cd in it and see how that goes.

You have format the hard drive when you boot up from the Win Cd.

List all the parts you have installed so we can review them and see what you have connected.

yodogs5

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2009
I already set the CD drive as the first booting device, as I said above I do not have the right windows cd that was used on this hard drive

AMD Athlon 64 x2 5600 2.9GHz

Gigabyte M61PME-S2P

Kingston 2GB DDR2 1066

MSI 9800GT

Western Digital 40GB (I know) HDD (from my old dell)

Goro

Distinguished
Nov 15, 2008
The hardware looks ok.

The cd should not matter as long as it is a boot cd. Is your CD IDE? If it is check your jumper settings on the CD and HDD.

If you manage to boot from the cd format your HDD. Let me know what happens.

yodogs5

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2009