Sign in with
Your question

Case fans into molex connectors from PSU?

Last response: in Overclocking
June 15, 2011 5:16:42 AM

Is this the right way to go about it? I have an Antec 300, it's my first build. The fan connectors have what seems to be the male end on one side and female on the other for molex. Can I just take the cable from the PSU with some molex connectors on it and plug one of those into each fan connector, then control the speed with the little switches you can click between high medium and low? Sorry if it's a real newbie question, I'm almost there, just don't want to rush and blow everything up. I ask mostly because I saw some video where a guy mentioned plugging case fans into something on the motherboard, but I can't see how I'd go about doing that with my setup.

Thanks a lot!
a b K Overclocking
June 15, 2011 5:44:45 AM

Any fan can be directly plugged into the PSU. It will run at full rated speed if connected like this. Several fans can be 'daisy-chained' and plugged into the PSU.

If you have a fan speed control unit, the fans can be plugged into the speed control unit.

The motherboard has fan headers marked 'Cha_Fan' 'pwr_fan' etc., and fans can be plugged into these headers. In this case, the motherboard fan speed control will take over the speed control. The speed/temp relationship can be set in the BIOS.
m
l
June 15, 2011 5:52:14 AM

Yeah, I see some pins on the motherboard for a fan to plug into, but they are tiny little pins and the connectors on the fans that came with the case are big molex ones, I'm not sure if there is some adaptor I would need?

Will the little controllers that hang off of the fans that come with the Antec 300 not control the speed if you plug it right into a molex connector? I was thinking they would just be electrical, control the amount of power that can go into the fan, not connected to the motherboard in any way.
m
l
Related resources
a b K Overclocking
June 15, 2011 6:09:40 AM

adamtheman87 said: