Sapphire HD 3850 AGP 512MB 1080p problem...

Inseino

Distinguished
Jul 11, 2009
I've got a Sapphire HD 3850 AGP 512MB card running on a P4 2.4c OC'd to 2.7 with 2GB PC3200 RAM on an Asus P4P800 Deluxe mobo.

I've been googling this question for days and I've read some posts that this problem has been solved. However, no one has given a step by step explanation on how to get it working and I'm new to the whole HD thing so I hope someone here can help me out.

Gaming works great with this card. I'm running games like Oblivion and Fallout 3 with good results, and older games like Half Life 2 are just flawless. I'm satisfied there. I've tried overclocking the card however I haven't seen any improvements in gaming. I know the stock heatsink and fan isn't that great, however my case is really well ventilated, and I've watched the GPU temp never go past 70 C when overclocked, and it stays below 60 C when I got it running stock.

My problem is with HD playback. That's one of the reasons I got the card. I found out later that the HD 3xxx series that are AGP and built by third party developers aren't that great and have had a whole bunch of problems. Nevertheless, I'm come across tons of posts reporting a lot of the issues have been solved.

The problem is that any HD playback can and should be processed by the GPU. However, when running a 1080p MKV the GPU stays at around 1-2% while my CPU load hits 100%. This is the reason I'm getting stuttering video and sound. I get that. I've also read that some guys have managed to get the GPU to do the processing, but I haven't found any real instructions on how to do this. If anyone could help me out on this one, I'd really be grateful.

edeawillrule

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2008
Your cpu is far too weak for HD video and anything more than light gaming.
The reason your performance in games didn't improve when you OC'ed the card is your cpu is bottlenecking your gpu.

The solution: Save up your money and get a new pc.

Inseino