Moving Vista without partition from HDD to SSD

viclaw

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2010
Hello,

I'm new to SSD and I have some questions.

I have Windows Vista on my C drive at the moment but I want to move Vista onto a new 64GB SSD. The OS is not in its own partition it is lumped together with everything else on my HDD.

What actually happens when you clone Vista to SSD? Is this possible even if I've not partitioned the OS? Can you choose what to clone when moving to a SSD?

Does the SSD become the new C drive or is it allocated a new drive letter?

What happens to Vista on the existing HDD? Is this automatically deleted or does it stay on there? If it stays on there can it be deleted or removed?

Once I move Vista to the SSD I am assuming a change in the BIOS is required so that it boots from the new drive.

Many thanks in advance.

Vic

Warning one: I would recommend a fresh install anyway. You will adjust your boot sequence in the BIOS to make the SSD the boot device, and it will see the SSD as C.

Warning two: Vista does not support the "TRIM" command that the SSD needs, and your SSD performance will degrade over time. There are utilities to deal with this; they vary from disk maker to disk maker.

Copying part of the existing OS partition is an iffy business. Unless you do a full clone, you are left with boot record issues that, while they can be fixed, are not simple.

Another alternative is to install another HDD and move things that are not part of the OS to it. You can even use the Properties of the My Documents folder to move it to the new drive, but this will be a pain in your rump after the new install. Sort of like making a sculpture ("Take a piece of marble, remove everything that isn't a horse"), you move everything that isn't OS to this other drive until you have less than 64 GB left, then clone that partition to the SSD.

"What actually happens when you clone Vista to SSD?" Well, if the SSD is big enough, you get an SSD that can be booted and run Vista.