Sign in with
Your question

Not sure where to put this thread. Cable management advice?

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Management
  • Cable
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
June 20, 2009 2:26:34 PM

I have a question that hopefully yields a really quick answer, so I do not have to bother you guys too long. My system is all set up, the OS is installed, all the drivers are updated, and so on. However, I am VERY displeased with the cable management. Can I shut down the power, and unplug all power connections, in order to clean up my cables, or should I leave it alone since it is already up and running. In other words, will doing this damage any components. If anyone is curious, I will post pictures later once I am all done. (It is my VERY FIRST build haha)

More about : put thread cable management advice

June 20, 2009 2:43:49 PM

If you are comfortable in during so, than there should be no issue. Good cable management helps with better air flow + makes the case show better. Look forward to seeing pics when you are done
June 20, 2009 4:38:34 PM

tecmo34 said:
If you are comfortable in during so, than there should be no issue. Good cable management helps with better air flow + makes the case show better. Look forward to seeing pics when you are done

What he said
Related resources
Anonymous
June 20, 2009 7:53:57 PM

heres a little thing I like to do. I group similar cables together. Thus, molex and sata are tied behind the hard drive cages. satas are UNTIED, but group together (since people tend to change those out often). internal usb, spdif, firewire, and audio cables are tied together, and I tie the cables along the edges of the case. Get plenty of cable ties and don't be afraid to experiment. Embarrassingly enough, I use fingernail clippers to cut off the cable ties at the end because you can apply a lot of force there and they get pretty close to the ends.
June 21, 2009 5:41:28 AM