Computer Fried, help me please!

Dracain

Distinguished
Sep 23, 2009
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting on this forums so I apologize if this is in the wrong section!

I was using my computer at home a few days back when suddenly the fans went haywire and became extremly loud followed by a "pop" sound which resulted in my computer turning off and a distinct burning smell. I first thought that my powersupply must have just been fried. So I unplugged everything, opened up my computer and took out the powersupply and brought it to my local PC store to confirm what I had guessed. According to the technician, my PS was completely fried so I bought a new one, installed it, and tried to boot my computer up again. Unfortunately, the computer would not boot up, my monitor would stay blank (flashing no signal), however the fans would turn on. I also noticed that the regular "beep" I hear when I used to turn on my computer was not happening.

I showed my computer to another friend who is more computer savvy than I am and he told me that the motherboard / processor and hard drive were definitely gone too. Now I don't mind if the motherboard and processor have to be replaced, but I really need to the hard drive. I had a few questions I was hoping I could get answered.

1. How does this usually happen? Was it just a power surge or could it have been something else?

2. Is it normal for hard drives to die when a PS gets fried?

I unfortunately do not have another computer on which I could test to see if the hard drive is working so for now some opinions would be appreciated!

Some additional information:

I have had the computer for 3+ years
Antec SmartPower 2.0 500W Powersupply
ASUS P5W DH Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 processor
Corsair 4GB Ram
80 GB IDE Western Digital HD
ATI Radeon X1900XTX 512 MB Vid Card

If any additional information is required, please let me know! Thank you!

dacca

Distinguished
Jul 25, 2009