My new ASUS M4179XTD EVO isn't recognizing my hard drive

Tags:
  • Hard Drives
  • Asus
  • Evo
  • Storage
Last response: in Storage
March 11, 2011 2:54:23 AM

Just for clarification to start, this is my first time doing an upgrade myself and it's really frustrating.

I installed the ASUS M4179XTD EVO tonight along with a compatible AMD processor and 4 gigs of ripjaw ram. I think I'm listing specifics on all the relevent information.

The hard drive, which I kept from my old setup, is a Western Digital WD2500JS 250 gig. It worked about 20 minutes prior to plugging it back in to the new mobo. I didn't change the power cable on it whatsoever, nor was there any hard jarring in the install. I upgraded the cable used to plug the hdd into the mobo with the ones that came with the mobo.

I've tried many different bios configs with no avail.

It just tells me the hdd isn't there.

I'm a gamer and having my pc down is killing me. Also, my copy of windows 7 won't be in for a few days and I don't have my xp discs anymore so there isn't an option of installing a new OS on a new hdd just yet.

If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know.

Thanks.

More about : asus m4179xtd evo recognizing hard drive

a b G Storage
March 11, 2011 5:29:56 PM

First, dont be discouraged. Part of the process is learning the quirks and asking questions. Even the old sages around here have to do it from time to time.

So, to address an indirect question, you may have lots of issues attempting to run your old hard drive (Windows XP) with the new motherboard. Most likely a repair installation which requires your original disks will be needed.

Secondly, if BIOS does not see the drive, carefully place your hand on the top of the drive (metal bits, not circuit board bits) and verify it is powered up.
m
l
March 11, 2011 7:20:42 PM