Sign in with
Your question

Starting from Scratch

Last response: in Systems
June 23, 2009 6:12:10 AM

Hello there. I am a first time builder and I have read the guides a few times and understand what I need in order to build my computer but due to my lack of experience I feel like I need to have "the best of the best", even though this is not conducive to my budget. Hopefully you guys can point me in the right direction

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Within the next three months

BUDGET RANGE: $500 - $600

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming (Primarily Aion but am interested in upcoming FPS's as well); Codng; Media editing/conversion; watching videos; surfing and downloading from the web

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Monitor

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Anything that uses USD

PARTS PREFERENCES: No preference really but I would like quality parts. I plan on triple booting this with Windows, Linux, and Mac OS X. To my knowledge OSX is only supported on Intel cpus but I have read that some have been able to setup a hackintosh using AMD so...

OVERCLOCKING: Yes

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Yes, now or eventually depending on cost

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1024x768. I will be using my HDTV as my primary monitor until I move, so it would be nice if the graphics card was capable of higher resolutions as well.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I need at least one HDMI port in this. I do alot of multi tasking. I would also like it to be relatively quiet with a midsize case, if possible. However if a bigger case is required to avoid overheating, I can handle that. In any case, thank you in advance for the help. I can see you get quite a few these requests and the fact that you responded to mine is much appreciated.

More about : starting scratch

June 23, 2009 6:57:37 AM