machi4u

Distinguished
Sep 26, 2009
sorry, im completely new to computer, zero knowledge. I'm getting a new desktop, but confused about
What is the difference between intel and amd... for example

Intel:

Core 2 Quad
i7/i5

AMD:

Phenom II x2
Phenom II x3
Phenom II x4
(and there are different numbers behind the x2,x3,or x4) what are those mean?

bascially which one is better? I heard core 2 quad is not worth it for present, because games are not over 2 core yet... not sure wat im talking about, but I'm planning on playing starcraft 2, modern warfare 2, and diablo 3 in the future. please tell me which cpu is good for these games, which will cause no lag at all for these games.

also, off topic, what is the difference between DDR3 and DDR2?
also, for video card, is GeForce 9800 GT good enough for the games i mentioned? or do i need like GTS or GTX? i heard those two are really hot and need good cooling for it..

jimishtar

Distinguished
May 15, 2009
x2 has 2 cores, x3 has 3 cores....
any core 2 quad is great for your games, even core 2 duo, like E5300 or E8400 will do just fine.
ddr3 has higher clock than ddr2, uses less power and has lot more performance.
9800 gt will be great for your games.

Well this will take a lot of explaining but i'll make it a simple as i can.

The Intel Core 2 quad, core i7, and i5. (all have 4 cores.)

Core 2 quad is intel's old cpu line. It intels first quad core CPU.

Core i5 is like the core 2 quad. it just newer, has some newer features, and has Level 3 cache.

Core i7 almost exactly like i5. it has Hyperthreading to make a 4 core cpu act like an 8 core cpu.

AMD
Phenom II x2: has 2 cores per cpu

Phenom II x3: has 3 cores per cpu

Phenom II x4: has 4 cores per cpu