Sign in with
Your question

Water vs Air - Quick Question

Tags:
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
June 22, 2011 8:34:28 PM

I have never doing any OC before but I will be on my new build. i7 26k ausu m4e, nvidia 580, Have a choice between

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

or

Both seem to have good feedback, CM Air option says its compatible with Sandy bridge, I didn't see that on the corsair Does that rule it out? I have zero experience with Water cooling, but I wanted to get into it. Im not sure of the benefits of WC that doesn't' also cool the GPU's, Just looking for a general consensus on which would be the better buy.

thanks

More about : water air quick question

June 22, 2011 10:09:05 PM

i personally have the H50 and it keeps my i7920c0 12C Cooler than my Noctua 120mm w/CM 90CFM fans
m
l
June 22, 2011 10:44:52 PM

Did you have any issues installing it? were you experienced with Water cooling before your purchase?
m
l
Related resources
June 22, 2011 11:39:35 PM

First, this isn't really "water-cooling." It's a self-contained unit that's basically 100% maintenance-free.

As for performance, the H50 and H70 are no better than the vast majority of high-performance HS/Fan air-coolers available. Several similar self-contained units from other manufacturers will outperform them, too.

Want a side-by-side comparison on identical test equipment? This ( http://www.frostytech.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=259... ) is FrostyTech's most recently reviewed cooler. Flip to pages 4 and 5 to see their long list of coolers they've tested on identical (simulated) AMD and Intel platforms. Once there, find any respective coolers you're considering (Ctrl+F in your browser) and compare how they stack up against the rest. You can search for their individual reviews as well.
m
l
June 23, 2011 3:20:06 AM

RazberyBandit said:
First, this isn't really "water-cooling." It's a self-contained unit that's basically 100% maintenance-free.