Sign in with
Your question

Motherboards for dummies?

Last response: in Motherboards
December 18, 2009 11:11:56 PM

Hi, I'm new to building PC and have been studying here for 2 weeks now. I think I got the basics for CPU, hard drive and graphics card now but I don't know where to start for motherboards. I understand that it's an important circuit that houses all other components but that's about it. Can anyone give me some pointers? Thanks.

More about : motherboards dummies

a c 216 V Motherboard
a c 229 U Graphics card
December 18, 2009 11:17:11 PM

give us a budget and we'll make suggestions
December 18, 2009 11:26:57 PM

Thanks JAckNaylorPE, but I want to study the options myself... I'm really enjoying reading articles and posts in this site :)  I'm a student so I'm hoping I can complete the build for under $500 excluding LCD. And I'm not planning to get a PC right away, I'm just getting prepared since my notebook is in bad shape and could die any second.
Related resources
December 18, 2009 11:56:22 PM

Hi there! I don't have anything on the motherboard in its entirety, but this article by 'hardwaresecrets' will tell you what you need to know about the voltage regulator circuit.

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/616/1

Hope this helps you out some. :) 
a c 156 V Motherboard
a b U Graphics card
December 19, 2009 12:03:51 AM

DokkRokken said:
Hi there! I don't have anything on the motherboard in its entirety, ...

Walk before run.
December 19, 2009 12:14:13 AM

Thanks for the link DokkRokken! Nice article, though too bad I can only check it out after I buy them...
December 19, 2009 2:09:02 AM

I've read some articles about Asus M4A785TD-V EVO... Is this a solid motherboard?

Currently I'm considering

-Athlon II x4 620, mild OC (or triple core if I can unlock disabled core)
-DDR3 2G RAM

-no graphics card, though I'll add them on one day (I heard that integrated graphics in 785 mobos are great)