Sign in with
Your question

External HDD recommendations are needed.

Last response: in Storage
March 14, 2011 6:34:32 AM

Hello all and thank you for taking the time to read this. :) 

There's a little bit of help that i require, I'm not an alien to the HW/SW market and it's lingo however I've never bought an external hard-drive disk and i assume there may be some different parameters to take into consideration, please inform me if there are since i have no real experience in that area.

My HW requirement are as follow:

* Affordability, what else. :) 
* 2tb of free space
* firewire compatible (the old one, not a or b - the latest would be preferred if it's backward compatible)
* known product reliability.
* decent company costumer support.

- i intend to buy some kind of cooling case to that HDD but if there's a reliable pre-made solution it'd be preferable.

What model would you people recommend?

EDIT:
These are some of the models that are available to me, maybe it may help you to help me in any way. :) 

Seagate External Desktop Drive 2000GB ST320005EXD101RK
IOmega 2000GB Prestige 2TB 3.5''

thank you in advance. :) 
a c 116 G Storage
March 14, 2011 2:31:03 PM

When I was interested in this, I looked at several off-the-shelf external enclosures. In addition to the HDD, I wanted a built-in cooling fan.

I ended up buying two of these enclosures: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

These enclosures have been in use reliably for over 15 months. The eSATA works fast, and on my desktop that does not have eSATA, I use USB 2.0 (works fine).

In one of these enclosures, I use: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

On the other, I use: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Both these HDDs are 1TB drives.

These enclosures will support up to 2 TB SATA HDDs. Select the one of your choice.