Overclock intel i5-2500K

hasappra

Distinguished
Mar 15, 2010
Hi, I want to ask for an advice on how to overclock intel core i5-2500k.

I am a newbie in this field. My MB is ASRock z68-Pro3-m. I just want to do some mild overclock on my intel since I don't have any after market HSF. I plan to overclock to 3.7 GHz. The problem is the core voltage. There are 2 choices (instead of auto) which are Offset and Fixed voltage. Which one is better for overclocking? Offset or fixed?

I tried both method, but gave me different results.

Fixed Vcore=1.175V
Prime95 for 4 hours without any problems. Benchmarking on some variety of games with no problem.

Offset Vcore= -0.005V
Prime95 never last for more than 15 minutes and BSOD
Benchmarking on games never succeed, always auto restarting my computer.

I read in some forum said that offset -0.005V means= default Vcore-0.005V
default Vcore for i5-2500K is 1.300V so after substracted by the offset voltage is equal to 1.295V which is higher than 1.175V (in fixed mode). However, why did 1.295V always gave me BSOD? In my understanding on overclocking, higher voltage means more stability, but this is not so likely.

Is this MB (Mobo) problem? or CPU Problem?
Please advice me. Thanks in advance. :)

Solution
Default Vcore for Sandy Bridge CPUs is 1.2v, not 1.3v

And Offset isn't "default voltage plus or minus the offset", it's "some mainboard-specific value plus or minus the offset."

The mainboard-specific value is likely well below the default Vcore, which is why it is giving errors during testing. The best way to find out what the voltage is, is to go into the hardware monitoring section of the BIOS and see what the value is. Then change the offset value and save and exit, and go back into the hardware monitoring section again to see how it changed.

You shouldn't use fixed voltage, as that keeps the same voltage even when the CPU is down-clocked to 1.6GHz for idle mode. Offset mode allows you to set the peak load voltage while...