Sign in with
Your question

OC Questions regarding Core i5 2500k and GA P67 D3 B3

Last response: in Overclocking
June 24, 2011 5:46:50 PM

Hey folks, long-time lurker here and finally decided to join the community! I recently put together this desktop and I think I did pretty good considering it's the first I've built in about 7 years. This is my first time dealing with overclocks though and had a couple questions. I've read various guides (including the two here at Toms) and have managed to get my chip to 4.0 ghz at 1.2vcore. I've disabled all of the power-saving features (c3/c6, c1, turbo, etc). Considering that I want to keep this chip for at least a few years, is it safe to leave the chip at a constant 1.2v or should I try to enable the power saving features to keep it at 1.6 when idle? I'll push the OC higher when I feel like the chip is becoming the bottleneck but for now I'm happy with it at 4.0.
a c 125 K Overclocking
June 24, 2011 5:57:01 PM

Hey and welcome to the community! :) 

1.2V is perfectly safe and the chip will last a very long time providing the temps are resonable (<70C Under max load).

Happy days.
June 24, 2011 6:14:11 PM

Thanks for the quick reply! I'm glad I joined the community (seems much friendlier here than at Anandtech :p ). Yeah max load under prime 95 (small ftts test not the blend one) is about 60ish I believe.

Double Post, internet time out... bah
Related resources
June 24, 2011 6:14:25 PM

Rustyy117 said:
Hey and welcome to the community! :) 

1.2V is perfectly safe and the chip will last a very long time providing the temps are resonable (<70C Under max load).

Happy days.

Thanks for the quick reply! I'm glad I joined the community (seems much friendlier here than at Anandtech :p ). Yeah max load under prime 95 (small ftts test) is about 60ish I believe.
a c 125 K Overclocking
June 24, 2011 6:21:01 PM

adreger said: