HELP!!! I NEED TO UPGRADE MY PC... THINKING OF BUILDING ONE...

shade0726

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2009
HI, I'M A FREELANCE PROGRAMMER WHO DEVELOPS GRAPHICS AND ANIMATIONS FOR ONLINE CONTENT. I'M CONCERNED WITH SPEED, STORAGE, AND RELIABILIY. I WANT TO MINIMIZE THE COST OF THE SYSTEMS BUT NOT AT THE EXPENSE OF MY KEY REQUIREMENTS. I WORKWORK ON ONE TO TWO PROJECTS A MONTH. EACH PROJECT GENERATES BETWEEN 1.5 GB TO 3.0 GB OF DATA FILES. I NEED TO KEEP ARCHIVES FOR ALL MY PROJECTS, BOTH FOR MY OWN USE AND BECAUSE CLIENTS MAY WANT ADDITIONAL WORK BASED ON MY PREVIOUS DELIVERABLES. YOUR HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED GUYS!!!!!

shade0726

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2009
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: the closer the better

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: I'm a programmer, and I develop graphics and animations for on-line content, I do about 2 projects a month, and each project is about 1.5 to 3 gigs. I need to be able to archive my work.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: i'm going to need all parts, because i want a competely new system

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: I don't really have a preferred website, I'd just like to get the best deals.

PARTS PREFERENCES: I don't have a parts preference, as long as they are quality parts.

OVERCLOCKING: no/ maybe... SLI OR CROSSFIRE: no

MONITOR RESOLUTION:1600x1200 (not extremely important)

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I use current versions of Photoshop and Flash as my main tools, I'd like to keep the price as low as possible, but I definitely want to have speed, storage,and reliability. I'd say the max I want to spend is 1500, but the lower the number, the better...

blackhawk1928

Distinguished
^+1 Agree, you are probably using CS4 right? if so, you want a lot of ram and you want it fast because multi-layered photo editing in photoshop will chew up your CPU and RAM.

-I recommend getting an "Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem"
-I recommend getting 12GB of 1600mhz Triple Channel Memory" (My recommended Manufactures: OCZ, Corsair, Kingston)