Overclocking my 955 BE

darcangelorr

Distinguished
Jun 21, 2011
I'm a noob when it comes to overclocking - I originally purchased Phenom II X4 955 BE chip a while ago but havent tried to overclock because I wasnt confident in stock cooling and tight case. Just fixed that. Here's the specs on my rig:

MSI 790XT-G45 Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE CPU w/ Cool Master 212 Hyper+ Fan & Heatsink
4GB (2x2GB) Corsair DDR2 PC6400 RAM
(2) MSI 1GB Radeon HD 5770 Video cards
CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W 80+ Certified PSU
COOLER MASTER HAF X RC-942-KKN1 Full Tower Case

Well I could use a little help. My bios is supposed to make overclocking easy however there are a TON of options on overclocking. For example, there is a CPU clock muliplier and a CPU NB clock muliplier. Do I change both or leave the NB one on Auto? For the CPU Voltage there seems to be two line items for it - one changing percentages (in both positive and negative directions) and the other changing actual voltages, although they are preset voltage settings to pick from - you can't just decrease/increase incrementally.

It appears on Auto my CPU is receiving 1.4V. I've tried to increase the multiplier to 19X to achieve 3.8GHz. I load and boot into windows fine at that point but will fail a Prime95 stress test about 10min into it.

Any input is greatly appreciated!

bigbang

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2004
overclocking is like doing an experiment, you want to change things one by one and see the effects on the system. there are general guides available or you can do it yourself. if you want the guides, just google "overclocking Phenom II" or overclocking "ur mother board name" and youll most likely see someone posting their findings.