Sign in with
Your question

Hard Drive Randomly Working?

Last response: in Storage
March 17, 2011 3:06:10 AM

I've had a asus G73Jh laptop for a little under a year and a couple days ago my secondary hard drive started acting up. My laptop has two 320 gb seagate momentus drives, each partitioned into 2 more parts. Luckily the primary still works fine so I can still boot windows just fine.

The problem occurred when I was playing a video game installed on my secondary drive, it suddenly crashed the entire computer causing it to instantly shut off. I tried to turn it back on, and the secondary hard drive started clicking and windows took forever to load. It didn't recognize the secondary drive so I figured it simply failed. Luckily nothing important was on the secondary drive. I was upset but I just installed my game on my primary drive and was going to replace my secondary drive.

I started playing again and for some reason my game froze and crashed my computer again. So I started it up one more time and played some more. It crashed again, but this time when it started up the secondary drive was read by the computer. I don't really know what is going on, is it possible that the secondary drive is randomly working and whenever it does the computer crashes because of it? I was just going to wait until I bought another hard drive to take out the bad one, but I am considering taking it out just to see if the hard drive itself is the problem. Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated. I am not the biggest computer tech guy on the planet so I am not 100% sure about what is wrong.
March 17, 2011 6:12:42 PM

A couple things....
1. the controller on the motherboard is bad
2. the hard drive is bad (maybe bad sectors). Seagate sucks. they have a 50% failure rate.

Try....
1. running checkdisk on both the hard drives (if it reports anything bad, take the drive and and put a new one while the old drive is still kinda working so you can extract data from it)