Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Asus p5q se/r - cannot get RAM stable

Last response: in Overclocking
June 30, 2011 5:10:11 PM

Hey guys, I'm having a bit of trouble getting my RAM stable when I increase the FSB (from 333 to 380).

My computer specs:
CPU: q9550 (333 x 8.5 stock)
M/B: asus p5q se/r
RAM: 2x2g g.skill ddr2-1066 pi series 5-5-5-15

I'm new to overclocking and started trying after having read a few guides, but realised that even though the cpu seemed stable at certain FSBs through prime95's small FFTs, the blend tests would fail within a few minutes. I have updated the BIOS version to the latest.

I am having trouble getting stability at an FSB of 380 (increase of 47 from stock), and I have no idea why. Anything lower, and it all seems to run fine.

Here are my settings:

- FSB freq: 380 MHz
- PCIE freq: 100
- FSB Strap to north bridge: 400 MHz (changing it to auto and 333 doesn't seem to do anything)
- DRAM frequency: 760 MHz (lowest setting; higher frequencies still fail/BSOD)
(also set DRAM to 5-5-5-15 specified timings)
- DRAM static read control: DISABLED
- DRAM read training: DISABLED
- Mem OC charger: ENABLED (AUTO didn't help)
- AI clock twister: AUTO (also tried LIGHT and LIGHTER settings)
- AI transaction booster: AUTO

- CPU voltage: 1.25000
- FSB termination voltage: AUTO (also tried setting this at 1.2/1.3)
- DRAM voltage: 2.1 (max specified voltage)
- NB voltage: AUTO (also tried bumping it to 1.1, 1.2, 1.3)
- SB voltage: AUTO
- load line calibration: DISABLED
- CPU spread spectrum: DISABLED
- PCIE spread spectrum: DISABLED
- CPU clock skew: AUTO
- NB clock skew: AUTO
- CPU margin enhancement: OPTIMIZED

- CPU ratio setting: AUTO (also set it to 8.5 to see if it made any difference)
- C1E support: ENABLED (also tried disabling)
- max cpuid value limit: DISABLED
- INTEL virtualization tech: ENABLED
- CPU TM function: ENABLED
- execute disable bit: ENABLED
(also tried disabling speedtech)