New Build, Need help deciding between a few components

SpydersByte

Distinguished
Sep 29, 2009
Ok guys, I tend to make long posts but Ill try to make this as quick and to-the-point as possible, please bear (bare?) with me. :pt1cable:

First of all, this is my first post so.... My name is Jason, I live just outside of Pittsburgh, PA, I'm 24, and I've been building my own computers for a few years. Im a (I guess you could call it) 'veteran' member of Xoxide forums. As they are down at the moment, and I thought you guys might be more helpful on this issue, I decided to post here.

Now, its time for a new build, and thus I have a few questions for those that know more than I. I had a surge go through my system not too long ago and I think it damaged the Mobo and CPU in some way. Im having problems, but I wont go through all that. I replaced the PSU (old one was dead) and got my lifetime warranty replacement from BFG (love em :). So, all I need for this new build is the Motherboard, CPU, and RAM. I can spend 1k-1.3k$ on those 3 components. I want as top-of-the-line components as I can get for the money with the motherboard being the most important.

Right now, as far as those Mobo, CPU, and RAM go, I have in my current system: ASUS Striker Extreme, Core 2 Duo, OCZ Gold. I prefer Asus for motherboards, AMD is NOT an option, and I like OCZ for RAM but Im pretty flexible for that (Corsair is good as well).

My first move was to go to Newegg and select a set of components that would fit in my price range. I will be buying from Newegg, that is the only option as far as retailer goes. After some searching, I came up with a preliminary list going off of pure specs, price, quality, and aesthetics (mobo). Yes, how "pretty" the board is DOES matter to me, I know it shouldn't, I know it doesn't help the situation, but I can't change myself. Now, the preliminary list: