Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Is there an easy way to go from raid 0 to 1

Last response: in Storage
March 18, 2011 5:50:49 PM

Hi there,

thanks to all the forum support I was able to build my 1st pc! Now I need to make some modifications. Originally I set up my gigabyte mobo with 1 - 1TB Hdd. Now I want to make it more secure by adding a second 1TB drive in a raid 1 config. (this is a graphic work not a gaming pc) What is the easiest (step wise) way to do it? Should I mirror my HDD to an external drive before reconfig. I really don't want to have to reinstall all my programs and win 7 os.
I am a total novice so even searching this forum is hard for me to know if my question is the same as one already posted. Also my sata's are a bit messed up - I can't get the usb ports on the front of my box to work. If someone who knows my board and box could advise as to what should plug where and what my raid setting should be this would really help!

here are the specs
mobo gigabyte ga x58a-ud3r
2x samsung 1tb hd
CASE Cooler Master |RC-922M-KKN1-GP BK RT

thanks to all

More about : easy raid

March 18, 2011 6:04:08 PM

No easy way.

Step1. image the data off to another drive
Step2. dump your raid-0
Step3. Create your raid-1
Step4. image your data back

Since it was a raid-0 to begin with, Windows saw it as a 2TB partition. When cloning, it may cause some problems because you can't image a 2TB partition to a 1TB partition. Use the Windows 7 disk management utility to try and shrink your partition down as much as you can, the smaller the better. If you can shrink it down so that i can fit on a 1TB partition, it may work.

What imaging software are you going to use?
The Windows 7 backup and restore utility may work depending on which version of Windows 7 you have. If you have Professional or Ultimate or Enterprise, it has the ability to create a disk image onto a network drive.