My monitor no longer gets a signal from my graphics card

Rucker25

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2009
Hello, this is my first time here.

A few days ago I decided to try and upgrade my performance by updating the drivers for my graphics card. I'm using a GeForce 8400 GS. I updated to the newest nvidia driver, 186.18. Downloaded and installed as normal and everything went fine. However when it asked me to restart, I did. All of a sudden, my monitor no longer receives a signal. The fans on the card and everything seems to be working as normal. I decided to unplug everything and clean the computer out. That seemed to work, as I got everything up and running again. The next morning though, the problem returned, no signal from the video card to the monitor. I'm running off of the onboard video right now and it works fine. I don't have another computer to test the card in, or have another card to test in the slot. Is it possible that the new drivers fried my card or messed something up? I tried uninstalling the drivers and reinstalling them, and used driver sweep to clean out anything old that was causing conflicts. There appeared to be a problem with several users where they could at least get the windows logo and then when the driver loaded the screen would lose signal, but I get absolutely nothing when I turn the system on.

Rucker25

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2009
Sorry, forgot to post specs

Intel Pentium D 2.8 Dual Core
GeForce 8400 GS
4g Mushkin Performance Gaming Ram (3574 Usable)
Windows XP
Direct X 9.0c
Phoenix Award BIOS v6.00PG

Rucker25

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2009
Thanks for the quick reply. I checked my Bios, and it is set to the PCIe slot. However, if I even have the card plugged into the slot, I can't get anything from my onboard video anymore. I get the same no signal message from my monitor, even though my monitor is connected to the onboard.

Rucker25

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2009