Sign in with
Your question

Feedback on an Ongoing Project

Last response: in Systems
June 29, 2009 12:22:41 AM

Hi Folks,

First off thanks in advance for the time; it's greatly appreciated. I have a couple questions and a dilemna, but first off here's my current build.

FXF 750i SLI Mobo socket 775 LGA
E8500 Core 2 Duo 3.2 mghz
Zalman 9700 CPU fan
2 x 2GB G.Skill 8500 DDR2 1066mghz Dual Channel
2 WD 250 GB 7500 rpm KS's
1 BFG 7900 GTX OC Nvidia GPU 512MB DDR3 RAM
Ultra 500W PSU
Thermaltake Aguile PC Case and a couple added fans, nothing major.

I am running Vista 32bit.

Now here's my issue: I recently bought an 850W Ultra 3X PSU Modular from Tigerdirect so I could add a second 7900 GTX OC and I also like the modularity to keep the case clean looking and for good airflow. I isntalled it, and for some reason the thing wouldn't turn on and the CMOS light blinks.

I tried everything: I double checked my work to kingdom come, and nothing out of the ordinary. So I thought, ok I'm a newb, I got something wrong when I hooked everything up. I double checked that and nothing. I learned that, oddly enough if I rapidly hit the power switch, the PC will fire up.

So I'm thinking it has to be the powerswitch, but I thought I'd reinstall my old PSU just in case that worked. So I did this, and it fired up immediately like it used to. So I'm thinking, it's got to be the PSU. Now I ran a CPUID HWMonitor thinking maybe one of the rails is whacked, and this is what I came up with:

Voltage sensor 0 3.39 Volts [0xD4] (+3.3V)
Voltage sensor 1 1.08 Volts [0x87] (CPU VCORE)
Voltage sensor 2 1.52 Volts [0x5F] (VIN2)
Voltage sensor 3 0.82 Volts [0x46] (VIN3)
Voltage sensor 4 5.05 Volts [0x78] (+5V)
Voltage sensor 5 12.41 Volts [0x8D] (+12V)
Voltage sensor 6 1.84 Volts [0x73] (VIN6)
Voltage sensor 7 3.39 Volts [0xD4] (VSB3V)
Voltage sensor 8 3.14 Volts [0xC4] (VBAT)
Temperature sensor 0 25°C (76°F) [0x19] (TMPIN0)
Temperature sensor 1 35°C (94°F) [0x23] (TMPIN1)