Sign in with
Your question

E5200 Problem overclocking

Last response: in Overclocking
July 3, 2011 8:43:19 PM

So I'm totally new to overclocking. I have read some information on the internet about it and decided to give it a go. I tried overclocking my E5200 to 3.00 GHz today and after running ORTHOS for 4 min 30 sec it stops and I get a Fatal Error Message:

Test 2, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19922943 using 1024K FFT length.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
Torture Test ran 4 minutes 31 seconds - 1 errors, 0 warnings.
Execution halted.

One weird thing that I noticed straight away was that in system properties it showed that I'm running at 3.12 Ghz instead of 3.00Ghz.

Specs:

Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Motherboard: ASUS P5Q
Processor: Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5200 @ 2.50GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.12GHz
Memory: Total 6144MB RAM
Using 2 2x2 cards but they are different. (Not sure if this may be the cause of problem)
Slots 1 & 2 - G.Skill DDR2 (800) - These are 2 GB each
Slots 3 & 4 - OCZ DDR2 (667) - These are 1 GB each

Card name: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
Hard drive: Not sure specs on it, but its pretty old 120 GB

Bios:
Multiplier - 12
FSB - 250
DRAM - 500

Weird thing was that when i changed FSB it changed my DRAM. Idk if thats normal or not. Another thing that confuses me is the ratio. I know its supposed to be 1:1, but not sure how to get that. Can anyone help me out here would very much appreciate it? ^^ Just tell me if you need more specs or what not.
July 3, 2011 9:35:29 PM

Did some experimenting...

Took out the 2 1GB ram sticks so now only left with 2 x 2 GB sticks. Ran the Orthos test again and got the same error at 3.30 mins this time. Weird thing was after the test my internet on this PC stopped working... Had to reboot to get it working again.

Took another look at bios. Here are the exact Bios that I changed from default:

CPU Ratio - 12.0
FSB Frequency - 250