Sign in with
Your question

Will this system last me?

Last response: in Systems
June 29, 2009 8:00:53 AM

Hi, I am new to the community and looking for some expert feedback its members.

Okay, to the point. I have been running an awful Dell for the pat six years
barely scraping by in the games I do play and at this time what it can play is
almost unplayable. So I am building a new system to last me roughly the same amount of time with minimal upgrades. I am using IBuyPower to build it since I know nothing about building my own (though I hear it's easy, I like warrentees). So I will copy and paste the major parts and hopefully get some feedback on potential upgrades or downgrades/fixes.

-AZZA Fantom 900 Gaming Tower Case

-750 Watt -- Corsair CMPSU-750TX Power Supply

-Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q9550

-Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer CPU Cooling Fan System

-eVGA Nvidia nForce 780i SLI Chipset w/7.1 Sound

-4 GB [2 GB X2] DDR2-800 PC6400

-NVIDIA GTX 260 896MB

-500 GB HARD DRIVE [Serial-ATA-II, 3Gb, 7200 RPM, 16M Cache]

-LG 22X Dual Format/Double Layer DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive

-Onboard Sound

-ASUS 22" Widescreen VH222H TFT LCD Monitor 16:9 Full HD 1080P /w Built in Speakers

-Vista Home Premium 64bit

For all intents and purposes this is pretty much for gaming, and I know I could get great performance out of a cheaper everything but again I want this to last and play anything on high(at one point I have had to play CoD4 at 640x480 res with everything turned off in a config). I have looked up a lot of things on my own like comparisons and what not but not total comparison so this is what I am hoping for. My budget is under 1500 and this comes close with shipping. Thanks for any advice in advance.

More about : system

June 29, 2009 11:04:09 AM

nVidia chipset motherboards have a poor reputation compared to intel chipset mb's . Only use that board if you are going to add a second gfx card in SLI