Your question

Programmer build

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
July 1, 2009 8:05:50 PM

I'm typing this on an Abit NF-7 with a single core CPU running at 2.1ghz. This is something I built back in 2003 I believe. I am a software engineer and do a lot of Java programming. I started doing Android development and found the Eclipse IDE has a nice 6+ second pause when I hit ctrl+s to save, which I uncontrollably hit every few keystrokes! I am finally ready to upgrade.

First, a little about my needs for the system...

It appears the Eclipse compiler I use can make use of multiple threads. That is good, though I can't find much about the specifics.

The last system I built used an EVGA 680i motherboad (this was for gaming, not programming). It had just come out and was amazing fast. I'm a tech guy, I don't consider myself to be an idiot, but I had all sorts of problems, of the random kind. Crazy things, like using a PS2 keyboard causing random BSODs, an overclock that was load test stable over 48 hours would 3 days later BSOD on every boot, and the worst was being unable to cold boots with 10+ attempts. I fought it for literally months, replacing the PSU, RAM, and GPU. In the end I finally got something that works and is reasonably stable (without ever being able to determine if the fix was hardware, a bios update, or whatever), but I've never had so many problems with a build.

I need the new system to be stable. I think my problems were because the 680i was new and simply unstable (the forums had many people with similar issues). I don't want this to happen again. I like to overclock if it is stable, but at this point I would just as well not overclock to save my own freaking sanity.

I'd like to run Windows XP. Do I lose any performance doing this? I'll dual boot Ubuntu, though I rarely use it.