Advices for overclock an unlocked Sempron

lancer265

Distinguished
Jul 10, 2011
Hi everyone,im new in the forums and i have some doubts about overclocking my unlocked sempron 140 (x2 4400).

I still dont have the money to get a phenom,and i want to overclock my processor to get more fps in some games,right now my speed is 3.3ghz,see the first pic

DSC01049.jpg

I only increased the CPU fecuency from 200 to 250,but i cant go further because of the ram speed,his limit is 1333 mhz and as you can see in the pic its in 1332 mhz,and its a cheap ram its an ADATA Premier 1333.

Im a noob in this of overclocking,i dont even have moved the voltages,these are the stock voltages im using:

DSC01050.jpg

I want to push this sempron up to 3.7 ghz maybe 3.8,im using stock cooler but i have see this processor runing 3.8 with stock cooler in other forums.

Another question,can you tell me wich program is good to test the stability of the cpu and how many hours are required for such test?

So i hope you guys can help me,greetings from Mexico D.F

Solution
you need more tweak in bios ! are you success in unlock it to Athlon 4400 ? step by step when OC ... from 3.3Ghz test like said @jdwii a or use IBT set X20 set max memori burn it maybe just 30 minutes for longtime use prime95
always' keep your eye's at temperature !

- disabled : cool n quite / AMD C1E support, Spread Spectrum
- Disabled CPU smart Fan Control
- Disabled Smart fan Mode
- PCIE at 100
- Advanced clock calibration all core
- try keep NB in 2000 for first stability
- Don't Let voltage at auto set manual
- set memory / raise Vdim max 1.62V, some people use Extremes Ram to 1.65V

good luck

jdwii

Splendid
"Another question,can you tell me wich program is good to test the stability of the cpu and how many hours are required for such test? "

Use Core temp to check temps should always be at 70C or lower
on idle usually 25-35C
MAX below 65C

Use Prime 95 to check if the overclock is stable