Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Best Stability Test with limited time

Last response: in Overclocking
July 13, 2011 9:50:02 PM

Hi All,

I'm a rookie OC'er and I'm wondering what the pro's opinions are on stability testing. I just read this guide and I like how helpful it was. In summary, it basically says for optimal and perfect testing to use Prime95 on Blend for 24hours, 3dMark for 4 hours(max), and memtest86 for 24hours.

Unfortunately I don't have this kind of time, and I was hoping that experienced members have suggestions on the most "efficient" way to stress test my basic cpu overclock with limited time.

Right now I'm going for large-FFT testing to test both my temps and stability at the same time.

Rig:

i5-2500k (3.3Ghz)
MSI P67-G45
Gelid Tranquillo Cooler
8Gb (2x4Gb) Mushkin PC3-10700 DDR3 memory

Latest "stable" (ran Prime Large-FFT's for 15 minutes) was an OC to 4.0GHz (x40 multiplier) with a 1.15V Vcore, temps max at 64C*C under full load.

Suggestions for efficient stress testing with limited time?

Best solution

a b K Overclocking
July 13, 2011 11:35:58 PM

Honestly, there is no magic number of hours (or minutes) that will determine a perfect OC. What you read is a guide, not a requirment; however, longer testing durations with stability will prove itself in the long run. Will running P95 for 24 hours, stable, guarantee that your system will always be stable? No, but you can be a lot more confident that your system won't fail on you.

The beauty of P95 is that it creates an error log, of sorts. This file is called "Stress.txt" and it will show you what you need to know about why your system crashed. That said, if you don't have time because you're just very anxious to use your new toy, then by all means skip the testing now, but allow the test to run when you can step away from the computer for awhile; while you're at work/school, for example.